Best place to buy concert tickets Cherubs





No upcoming events

1. CHERUBS is a noise rock band from Austin, TX. Formed in 1992 by Ed Hall expatriate drummer Kevin Whitley, Owen McMahon (bass), and Brent Prager (drums), the Cherubs emerged on the Austin, TX, LSD punk scene with a jackhammer of nightmarish, rhythm-driven song structures and plenty of Butthole Surfers whimsy and terror to keep things more than interesting. Later that year, King Koffey of the Butthole Surfers released the band's first album, Icing, on his Trance Syndicate label. Icing proved a strange concoction of repetitive, hypnotic beats, frosted with Kevin Whitley's high-pitched howl. In 1993, the band issued the Carjack Fairy single, each of the thousand pressed sleeved in a different piece of wallpaper samples; an interesting concept, and one certainly not alien to the musical climate of Austin, TX. By the time the band's magnum opus, Heroin Man, was issued in 1994, the Cherubs had called it quits, leaving a hell of an album in its wake, one of the most distorted, red-lined, oddball noise rock records ever made. Two years later, Trance released Short of Popular, a collection of singles, odds and ends, and outtakes from previous sessions. LABEL: Trance Syndicate RELEASES: Heroin Man, Icing, Short Of Popular 2. CHERUBS (Medway, United Kingdom) - The band came together December 2003. Debut single "Hey Bunny" was out October 2004, second single was the non-album track "Club Hoola Hoop's Walls" out February 2005. Their debut album "Uncovered by Heartbeat" (2005) was a passionate and intricate album of taught rhythms that had outgrown the Rapture comparisons of their 'Hey Bunny' debut. Trademark twin guitars alternately jangle and then crunch in classic Ranaldo/Moore Sonic Youth style while Staale's vocals are always darkly soulful/soul-less in the classic UK indie stylings of Morrissey, McCulloch or Curtis. Single "A Man of no Importance" is another non-album track, and was out August 2005 on CD single and ltd. edition 7". It was produced by Mercury Prize nominee producer Gareth Parton (Ikara Colt, The Go! Team, The Killers, The Futureheads). The "Paper Cut Moon" EP was the only release in 2006. The band broke up in September 2007. Members have since gone on to join the likes of XX Teens and Stricken City. LABEL: Cargo Records RELEASES: Hey Bunny (single), Club Hoola Hoop's Walls (single), Uncovered By Heartbeat (album), A Man of No Importance (single), Paper Cut Moon (EP). Read more on User-contributed text is available under the Creative Commons By-SA License; additional terms may apply.